Regional Planning

Regional Planning

Hydro One SSM

ELS Region 
Planning Status

Independent Electricity
System Operator

IESO Links 

Ontario Energy Board

OEB Links 


On October 18, 2012 the Ontario Energy board released a report – Renewed Regulatory Framework for Electricity (RRFE) - the report was produced as a result of a consultation process aimed at initiating a cost effective means of development of the electrical infrastructure through coordinated planning efforts at a regional level between licensed Transmitters and Distributors. In May of 2013 a group of industry stakeholders called the Planning Process Working Group (PPWG) developed and released the Working Group Report to the Board which defines the new regional planning process. In order for the process to be managed efficiently the province has been split up in to 21 regions, split into three prioritized groups, as well as a lead transmitter assigned to each region. The Report establishes the foundation, the steps of the process as well as the expected timeline in which the outputs of the process should be completed. The overall planning process will involve 3 levels of planning; bulk, regional and distribution and the participants will include; The IESO, Transmitters and Distributors.

For more detailed information about the Regional Planning process please use the links provided for the Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO) and the Ontario Energy Board (OEB) websites.


©  2018 Hydro One Sault Ste. Marie LP